You are here

Back to top

Reading Between the Crimes (A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

Reading Between the Crimes (A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery #2) Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, the members of the Jane Doe Book Club are on the case as Kate Young's peachy-keen Georgia-set mystery series comes back for seconds.

What better time than Halloween to dig into a bracing discussion of a diabolical murder mystery? And what better choice for the Jane Doe Book Club than Agatha Christie's Crooked House? Lyla Moody and her friends are soon embroiled in debate over whether the heroine's actions are particularly believable. But not long after the meeting, sleepy Sweet Mountain, Georgia, is rocked by a murder that uncannily echoes the novel in question.

When Lyla and her grandmother arrive at the charity event that Lyla's mother is hosting, they barely have time to hang up their fall jackets before they stumble upon a body in the library. Leonard Richardson, it seems, was robbed and then hit over the head with a brass candlestick--which throws suspicion on Harper Richardson, his young widow and a friend of the Jane Does.

Lyla and the rest of the Jane Does pool their prodigious intellects to clear Harper's name. Peculiarly, all of the clues seem to have been lifted directly from the plot of Crooked House. But as Lyla probes the pages of Christie's classic whodunnit for hints on catching the killer, she uncovers secrets from her mother's past--secrets that suggest that Lyla's own house may be crooked as well.

About the Author


Kate Young is a member of Sisters in Crime and the Guppy Chapter. She is married and the mother of three. She lives in a small town in Georgia and when she is not writing her own books, she's reading or cooking.

Praise For…


Praise for Reading Between the Crimes:
“A page-turner filled with quirky characters and more than enough surprises to keep you guessing.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Multilayered characters add depth . . . Readers will eagerly await the next installment.”
Publishers Weekly

“A wonderfully entertaining and compulsive page turner of a read."
Midwest Book Review

“An entertaining cozy mystery with a twist...will keep readers guessing.”
Fresh Fiction

Praise for On Borrowed Crime:
“Lila Moody has a spine of steel, a sharp mind and a streak of independence. She needs all that and her wits about her as she sleuths through a twisty tale of murder that is altogether too close to her beloved true crime book club. This engaging mystery is spiced with Southern charm, family drama and a tantalizing bit of romance.  Enjoy!”
—Victoria Abbott, national bestselling author of the Book Collector mysteries

“Great fun, filled with small town Southern charm and outlandish characters.”
—Terrie Farley Moran, Agatha Award-winning author of the Read ‘Em and Eat mysteries

“This skillful blend of detective work and chick lit will appeal to cozy readers.”
—Publishers Weekly

“A fine outing for a spunky heroine whose job and other activities provide plenty of grist for future investigations.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“As mystery writers go, Kate Young is consistently one of the best.”
—Midwest Book Review

“Thoroughly engrossing.”
—Cozy Mystery Book Review

“A fun read with interesting characters and a solid plot.”
—Red Carpet Crash

“A good start for a new series.”
MyShelf

Product Details
ISBN: 9781643857428
ISBN-10: 1643857428
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery